Кругосветка 2006
Planting rice in Vietnam

Planting rice in Vietnam

2006 год (Китай–Лаос–Вьетнам–Мьянма–Таиланд–Малайзия–Индонезия–Австралия–Новая Зеландия–Австралия–Япония–Корея–Россия (Владивосток)–Монголия–Россия)

2006 год

Near the border, as usual, changed flags – Lao to Vietnamese, and another flag of Vietnam taped to the front of the motorcycle. It’s probably a psychological thing. And it works just 100%! It is evident that people’s eyes light up, there is a keen interest that is supposedly for white biker with our flag? Very respectful I am. But, by and large, it is still a tribute to the people and the instinct of self-preservation. I think that if I’m in Africa and just went by country with their flags, most of all, I wouldn’t have a problem in Tunisia, when they put me in the dungeon to determine the identity. I have not finished the 4th stage of the rally, but now I can clearly imagine that I will “finish” Africa-and start from there, from where I was deported (Tunisia). Fundamentally!

The procedure of crossing the border is simple: filled in the Declaration, issued a temporary import of the motorcycle-and go! On the Vietnamese border, I was allowed to take photos and shoot videos. They (border guards and customs) as one all perefotografirovalis on my bike on their cell phones. The road to winn – continuous mountains and very difficult visibility. Mountains over kilometers through the 70s, it became easier. But the quality of roads is terrible! I have, as on trajectory down-Thailand, Laos, Vietnam. Moreover, Laos is worse than Thailand, and Vietnam is worse than Laos. But I’m still going to Cambodia, and there, they say, even worse than in Vietnam. Let’s see…

Stopped in the village of NA PHET – hunger is not my aunt. Immediately noted that the cuisine of Vietnam is very different from the cuisine of Laos. In General, there is not – nor salty, neither bitter nor sweet. All meals are served unsalted. Given that kind of seasoning, very bitter and smells like swamp. Ate rice, drank Pepsi Cola. Maybe even in the city, eat like human beings. Drove into this very town-VINN, found a hotel and immediately, without wasting time, I say to the taxi driver: come, they say, show your memorable places. Agreed that 2 hours will give him 10$ and feed.

We went to the memorial of the victims of the war with the Americans. The Ho Chi Minh monument. In their Church. Then the taxi driver sticks his fingers in his mouth – say, it’s time to eat. Took me to my favorite place to eat. Ran up the cook and started to offer different meals (they were either dining, whether dining at home, where they fed their guests). I trusted the taxi driver, he ordered a full table – and all ate one! I again settled for drinks. Then we went to the outskirts of the city to see the life of the peasants. Just live in poverty. I went into their huts: bunk, table and a lot of children…

When I was driving from Laos to Vietnam, my friend Vixay said that in Vietnam people another and can easily run into local thugs (racket). Of course I all of this envisaged, times this there is in other countries, then why in Vietnam and Laos (here I have was “roof” – guide Visay) should not be these elements? It happened, I had to have a talk with their “brother”. When I went in search of maps of roads of Vietnam, in the same area I was approached by a few people and one in English began to ask, what are you looking for and where they came from. I immediately realized that it was for the guys, plus they at first thought I was American (because of my hat). I told them where I was from and I gave them my beautiful cards. Their senior with me was photographed, and then gave me the motorcyclist, and with it I without problems found the card. In General, I then explained that it was types of looking for order in the city. Ah here is, now friends I have became more… But the most interesting thing is, when I arrived at the hotel in the evening, I was waiting for the head of the Communist party Committee comrade bounma Phet SAI Yong. He hotel administration reported the arrival of the biker-world wider from the former USSR.

I was touched! There was the press, television, dinner at their expense. We spoke to him at length on various topics. From our conversation I understood that this is a Communist of the old school. But most of all, he has trained his Russian language (for 20 years was not in Russia). He told me that I could not get to Cambodia normally, because there is a continuous repair of roads. Like, it is better to get to Cambodia through Laos or Thailand. We sat with him until one o’clock in the morning. He gave me an escort in the morning, and we went to the rice fields (I wanted to see how they work) and the abandoned villages of the American bombing. The first impressed me more when we drove up to the rice fields, I already knew that I was ready to provide all possible assistance in growing rice. The villagers are stunned when I dropped the bike, took off his shoes and went into the field. The feeling is indescribable! And the Vietnamese were thrilled with what I did. They showed how to plant seedlings, cut, run the water, carry it to the tank. A whole science! In-General, rice is their bread.

When I walked barefoot on the field, knee-deep in the water, I thought it was heaven. Such bliss that I didn’t even notice how all smeared in mud. They all laugh, take pictures with me.

Washed up, a little dry, though, and decided to go to Cambodia. But after 100 kilometers, I realized the futility of his venture and decided to return to the capital of Laos. The night caught me when I reached the border 200 km away. the villagers have long pondered, what am I supposed to be spending the night. Well, there is a bike here and go with God himself… Try to explain that I’m tired and want to sleep. In General, sleep in some outhouse, but again, as in the jungle, there was no heat, no stuffiness (which I was so scared) because the houses are made of bamboo. To undress afraid. Fell asleep immediately. In the morning I was given tea, and I host – $ 10 for hospitality. Was not able to find one glove (seen at night, some four-legged creature dragged), and I had to leave the second.

Again these mountains, again these tiresome kilometers. Caught in a heavy tube, I thought that the accident in the mountains. But no, it’s the police that kidnaps everyone. I didn’t even check, waved a hand supposedly pass, and I to them as a greeting decided to honk. That’s just pressed the wrong button and I have joined a police siren. They were stunned, and I was scared, I thought, will force to remove a siren. But nothing, looked in a mirror – for me not go.

On the border are the same guys-from Laos, from Vietnam. Ask, that so quickly, that even week not was on a visit in Vietnam? They don’t know that I have a very large route, and therefore for a long time impossible to stay anywhere else.

Кругосветка 2006
Посадка риса во Вьетнаме

Посадка риса во Вьетнаме

2006 год (Китай–Лаос–Вьетнам–Мьянма–Таиланд–Малайзия–Индонезия–Австралия–Новая Зеландия–Австралия–Япония–Корея–Россия (Владивосток)–Монголия–Россия)

2006 год

Возле границы, как обычно, поменял флаги – лаосский на вьетнамский, еще один флажок Вьетнама приклеил спереди мотоцикла. Наверное, это психологический ход. И он срабатывает буквально на 100%! Видно, что у людей светятся глаза, появляется живой интерес, что это, мол, за белый байкер с нашим флагом? Очень уважительно меня принимают. Но, по большому счету, это все-таки дань уважения народу и инстинкт самосохранения. Я так думаю, что если бы я в Африке и так же ехал по странам с их флагами, то, скорее всего, у меня не было бы проблем в Тунисе, когда они посадили меня в зиндан до выяснения личности. Я еще не закончил 4-й этап мотопробега, но уже сейчас отчетливо представляю, что все-таки «добью» Африку – и начну оттуда, откуда меня депортировали (Тунис). Принципиально!

Процедура пересечения границы простая: заполнил декларацию, оформил временный ввоз мотоцикла – и вперед! На вьетнамской границе мне разрешили делать фото и снимать на видео. Они (пограничники и таможня) как один все перефотографировались на моем байке на свои сотовые телефоны. Дорога до Винн – сплошные горы и очень сложная видимость. Горы закончились километров через 70, стало легче. Но качество дорог ужасное! У меня, как по траектории вниз – Таиланд, Лаос, Вьетнам. Причем, в Лаосе хуже, чем в Таиланде, а во Вьетнаме хуже, чем в Лаосе. Но я еще собрался ехать в Камбоджу, а там, говорят, даже хуже чем во Вьетнаме. Посмотрим…

Остановился в деревеньке NA PHET – голод не тетка. Сразу отметил, что кухня Вьетнама сильно отличается от кухни Лаоса. В-общем, есть невозможно – ни солено, ни горько, ни сладко. Все блюда подают несолеными. Дали что-то типа приправы, очень горькая и воняет болотом. Съел рис, запил пепси-колой. Может, хоть в городе поем по-человечески. Заехал в этот самый городишко – ВИНН, нашел отель и сразу, не теряя времени, говорю таксисту: давай, мол, показывай ваши памятные места. Договорились, что за 2 часа дам ему 10$ и покормлю.

Поехали к мемориалу жертв войны с американцами. К памятнику Хо Ши Мину. В их церковь. Потом таксист сует пальцы в рот – мол, пора и покушать. Повез меня в свое любимое место, где питается. Подбежала повариха и давай предлагать различные блюда (у них то ли столовая, то ли кафе прямо у себя дома, где они и кормят своих постояльцев). Я доверился таксисту, он заказал полный стол – и все съел один! Я же опять довольствовался напитками. Потом поехали на окраину города, чтобы посмотреть жизнь крестьян. Живут просто бедно. Заходил в их избушки: нары, стол и куча детей…

Я когда ехал из Лаоса во Вьетнам, мне друг Висай сказал, что во Вьетнаме народ другой и можно запросто нарваться на местных бандитов (рэкет). Конечно я все это предусматривал, раз это есть в других странах, то почему во Вьетнаме и Лаосе (здесь у меня была «крыша» – проводник Висай) не должно быть этих элементов? Так и произошло, мне пришлось-таки пообщаться с их «братом». Когда ездил в поисках карты автомобильных дорог Вьетнама, в одном районе ко мне подошли несколько человек и один на английском стал спрашивать, что ты здесь ищешь и откуда приехал. Я сразу понял, что это за ребята, к тому же они сначала подумали, что я – американец (из-за моей шляпы). Сказал им, откуда я, и раздал свои красивые визитки. Их старший со мной сфотографировался, а потом дал мне мотоциклиста, и с ним я без проблем карту нашел. В-общем, мне потом объяснили, что это типы смотрящие за порядком в городе. Ну вот, теперь друзей у меня стало больше… Но самое интересное, когда вечером я приехал в гостиницу, меня уже ждал глава горкома Коммунистической партии товарищ Боунма Пхет Сай Енг. Ему администрация гостиницы доложила о приезде байкера-кругосветника из бывшего СССР.

Я был тронут! Была пресса, телевидение, ужин за их счет. Мы долго с ним разговаривали на разные темы. Из общения я понял, что это коммунист старой закалки. Но, скорее всего, он тренировал свой русский язык (уже 20 лет не был в России). Сказал мне, что до Камбоджи я не смогу доехать нормально, потому что идет сплошной ремонт дорог. Мол, лучше попасть в Камбоджу через Лаос или Таиланд. Просидели мы с ним до часу ночи. Утром он дал мне сопровождающего, и мы поехали по рисовым полям (я хотел посмотреть, как они работают) и по заброшенным от американских бомбежек деревням. Первое меня впечатлило больше, когда мы подъехали к рисовым полям, я уже точно знал, что готов оказать посильную помощь в выращивании риса. Крестьяне все обалдели, когда я бросил свой байк, разулся и пошел в поле. Ощущение неописуемое! И вьетнамцы были в восторге от моего поступка. Показали, как надо сажать саженцы, обрезать, запускать воду, уносить в резервуар. Целая наука! В-общем, рис – это их хлеб.

Когда я ходил босиком по полю, по колено в воде, мне показалось, что это рай. Такое блаженство, что я даже не заметил, как весь измазался в грязи. Они же все хохочут, со мной фотографируются.

Отмылся, чуть обсох и принял решение ехать до Камбоджи. Но, проехав километров 100, понял всю бессмысленность своей затеи – и решил возвратиться в столицу Лаоса. Ночь меня застала, когда я не доехал до границы 200 км. Жители поселка долго соображали, для чего я должен у них ночевать. Мол, есть байк, вот и езжай себе с богом… Попробуй объяснить, что я устал и хочу спать. В-общем, спал в какой-то времянке, но снова, как и в джунглях, не было ни жары, ни духоты (чего я так сильно боялся), поскольку домики из бамбука. Раздеваться побоялся. Уснул сразу. Утром мне дали чаю, а я хозяину – 10$ за гостеприимство. Так и не смог найти одну перчатку (видно, ночью какая-то четвероногая тварь утащила), пришлось оставить и вторую.

Опять эти горы, опять эти утомительные километры. Попал в сильную пробку, думал, что авария в горах. Ан нет, это милиция шманает всех подряд. Меня даже не проверяли, помахали рукой, мол, проезжай, а я им в знак приветствия решил посигналить. Вот только нажал не ту кнопку и у меня включилась полицейская сирена. Они обалдели, а я испугался, думал, заставят снять сирену. Но ничего, посмотрел в зеркало – за мной не едут.

На границе те же ребята – что со стороны Лаоса, что со стороны Вьетнама. Спрашивают, что так быстро, что даже неделю не погостил во Вьетнаме? Они ведь не знают, что у меня очень большой маршрут и поэтому надолго задерживаться нельзя нигде.